1998 Annual Meeting Minutes

National Swine Improvement Federation

East Lansing, Michigan
December 5, 1998

The Annual Meeting was held at 12:00 noon on December 5, 1998, at the Marriott Inn at University Place in East Lansing, Michigan. President Todd See called the meeting to order and asked Chris Leman for the invocation, then asked for a moment of silence for Warren Stein and Lauren Christian who passed away since the last annual meeting.

The minutes of the December 6, 1997, Annual Meeting were presented as published in the 1997 Record of Proceedings, National Swine Improvement Federation, Volume 22. It was properly moved, seconded, and passed that the minutes be approved as printed.

Charles Stanislaw presented the financial statement for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1998. The statement showed a checking account balance of $7,545.04 plus $7,330.72 invested in a Certificate of Deposit for total Federation resources of $14,875.76. The auditors' report, presented by Gordon Jones, indicated that the financial statement was correct and that all transactions were consistent with the business of the Federation. It was properly moved, seconded and passed that the treasurer's report be accepted.


The NSIF Graduate Student Award for research in swine breeding was awarded to John Eggert, Purdue University. His nomination was made by Allan Schinckel, who read the citation and made the presentation.

The Distinguished Service Award was awarded to Rodger Johnson, University of Nebraska. His nominators were Merlyn Nielsin and Tom Rathje. Tom Rathje read the citation and made the presentation.


The 1997 Conference Proceedings, NSIF Volume 22, were published and distributed to all 1997 conference attendees, Federation membership, university swine specialists, and those requesting copies.

1999 Meeting Site

The 1999 NSIF Conference and Annual Meeting will be held in Nashville, Tennessee.

Introduction of Officers and Directors

President See announced the following officers and directors for 1998-99:

Executive officers: Todd See, President; Steve Moeller, Vice President; Ken Stalder, Secretary-Treasurer; Charles Christians, Editor.

Swine Breed Association Directors: Chris Leman, Jim Venner (replacing Mike Killingsworth), Mike Paul, and Dean Compart.

National Pork Producer Council: Steve Price and Bob Uphoff.

Central Test Stations: William Ellis and Lowell Harper.

Artificial Insemination Companies: Harold Hodson and Steve Kerns.

Testing Organizations: To be appointed.

Breeding Companies: Jim Schneider, Matt Culbertson, and Russell Nugent.

Directors at Large: Tom Baas, Todd See, Max Waldo, and Steve Moeller.

Ex-officio: Richard Frahm, USDA-CSREES-PAS; Max Rothschild, NC-210 Molecular Research Group; Maynard Hogberg, Land Grant Universities; and Rodney Goodwin, National Pork Producers Council. The director for NC-220 is to be appointed.

President See recognized the outgoing officers and directors: Charles Stanislaw, Chris Leman, Mike Killingsworth, and Tom Socha. He then recognized Ron Bates and Maynard Hogberg for their efforts and assistance in hosting the 1998 Conference.

Respectfully submitted,

Charles Stanislaw


Dr. Rodger Johnson, University of Nebraska, receiving the Distinguished Service Award from Dr. Tom Rathje.

John Eggert receiving the NSIF Outstanding Graduate Student Award from Dr. Allan Schinckel, his advisor.

The Michigan State University Livestock Judging Team, which placed first in judging performance swine classes at the 1998 National Intercollegiate Livestock Judging Contest and was the high team judging Yorkshires. Seated (left to right) are: Kendra Cook, Sarah Miller, Sara Moyer, and Sarah AcMoody. Standing (left to right) are: Jason Rowntree (coach), Brandon Hill, Leah Miller, Jennifer Braman, Kim Hargrave, and Darrell Anderson (National Swine Registry).